esha ness

A walk last year….

Horse drinking; Dore Holm, Esha Ness

Coastline

Ocean, cliffs and seabird

Deep inlet gouged out by the ocean; Calder's Geo

Moss, lichen and rock

Water-polished stones

Creator of fine Shetland yarn ; )

and the shawl inspired by it…

Waves of old shale patterning

Soft and cosy

Shetland colours

Ocean and sky

Moss, lichen, earth and sheep

Finally finished, my enormous hap shawl inspired by a day spent walking the magnificent Esha Ness in Shetland… I love it! A hybrid of Gudrun Johnson’s and Madeleine Weston’s haps, using yarn from Jamieson and Smith, Rennie and Holstgarn. Details here.

This entry was posted in creatures, knitting and yarn, outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to esha ness

  1. magnusmog says:

    Perfect Scottish seaside colours – the sand, the sea, the lichen…..
    I want to make one now!

  2. sooz says:

    Amazing, amazing finished piece Jules. Utterly inspirational (and lovely photos to boot!)

  3. MildlyCrafty says:

    It’s perfect Jules! That walk at Esha Ness was so lovely!!

  4. Tamara says:

    The colours are so, so beautiful together…what a wonderful piece.

  5. Annie says:

    That is so beautiful, and so very evocative of that landscape. Love it 😀

  6. Be still my beating heart. Blooming glorious J.

  7. Nikki says:

    Gorgeous! A perfect interpretation of the landscape and stunning photos.

  8. pamalison says:

    I think this is the first time I’ve seen someone wearing a hand-knit shawl and thought “I can see the point of shawls”. Usually, although as a knitter I appreciate the colour, the patterning, the all-round cleverness, I can’t see any reason to really wear one. This is simple and truly beautiful. Inspiring.

    • julesmoon says:

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment! Yes, the shawl thing totally eluded me until I saw mustaa villaa’s wool peddlers shawl- and then I got it. This is totally usable and so big and soft and light at the same time. More like a wrap. Shawlettes still elude me ; )

  9. Zoya says:

    Wonderful shawl – totally gorgeous, love the colour combination and it must be so soft and warm. Wish I could touch it.

  10. scluesn says:

    Jules … I adore your work and the beautiful photos too … the shawl is stunning! x

  11. Nicole says:

    This is definitely one of the prettiest hap-style shawls I’ve seen. I adore the landscape-like colours!

Leave a Reply

