fo’s

I’ve been thinking that, for a knitters blog, I very rarely post photos of my finished objects… I guess it is mostly because I figure that the majority of people who read this are also knitters and will most probably see my projects as I pop them on Rav and so I get lazy with it. I also struggle with posting often about stuff I make. Not sure why- I like people liking my stuff as much as the next person but it somehow feels weird to put stuff up all the time. And I love commenting on blogs about the amazing things that people do and make but am not so comfortable receiving the same here. Weird. False modesty? Fear of criticism? Right now, I’m also heavier than I’ve ever been so I am not loving how I look in photos… I really need to get over that. But does anyone else struggle with this whole thing?!

So… some finished objects. All in one go so I get it done.

My favourite fo is something I saw in a beautiful book when I first started knitting… I dreamed of the day I’d be good enough to knit it and then put the photocopied pattern in my folder and forgot about it. Then, recently, I found out that my wonderful manager Judith also had a longstanding hankering to make it so we decided to do it together- needless to say, she is too busy to do any of her own knitting so it ended up just me.

Faroese lace shawl

Fringe and garter lace

It really wasn’t a complicated knit, although the instructions were very limited, but that just gave me the opportunity to test myself to see how much I’d really learned over the last seven years. And I did fine. It is a “true”, big-ass shawl that would keep a Faroese (and Melbourne) woman warm in the cold winter winds. The yarn is Rowanspun DK that was a cardigan in a previous life but that never really felt like it was in its true element. But this shawl is the perfect union of pattern and yarn and I love it.

Razor Shell

Above is a shawl/ stole made from yarn dyed in my first experiments in dyeing with plants that I made for the guild’s group exhibition (on here at the moment!). I was inspired to make something rhythmic like this but with a more simple feeling so I used a 12-stitch Razor Shell pattern to make an open chevron. I like the way the colours work together- in retrospect, I should have flipped the warmer shades the other way around to make them stand out more clearly but that’s learning.

Plant colours

A simple crochet cowl made to showcase the beautiful 12-ply alpaca bought from Tailored Strands during Knitcamp… super warm.

Alpaca cowl

Last is my Home Comforts cardigan- very unlike what I normally knit but I wanted to use a very simple pattern with large panels to highlight some very beautiful handspun yarn (probably Merino or Polwarth) that I bought at the guild last year. This is really homey, soft and organic and not very cool and I love that about it… so it is my stay-in-my-pyjamas-all-day-type garment that doesn’t really show itself in public!

Big and cuddly

And my final fo- and probably the one I am most proud of- is the tunic I am wearing in the above photos. I say most proud because I think of myself as a bad and slack sewer but I have worn this pretty much every day since craft camp two weeks ago- so it has made the grade in terms of being cool enough to wear and I love it. It was also my first experience of overlocking- instant love for linen edges!- and so has a special place in my heart. Guess what I’ve asked for for a joint birthday/Christmas present?!

This entry was posted in knitting and yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to fo’s

  1. Raynor says:

    Here’s some tough love, Ladyface:
    1. You’re depriving the world by not posting your FOs because your knitting and dying is amazeballs. Hear me? AMAZEBALLS!
    2. If I were as photogenic as you are, I’d be mailing photos of myself to everyone I know just to rub it in. “Look how pretty I am!”, but then, that’s just me. ^_~
    Seriously though, I’m so obsessed with the Faroese shawl. So amazing. And I’ve seen all the others in person and told you how much I love them, and all of that still stands. ^_^ ❤

    • Jules says:

      Oh, you’re lovely squirms do you know what i mean though about that struggle or do you just put yourself out there? Does having a blog mean you just need to not think about what other people might think and just do your thing? I’ve managed to keep this little space pretty free of my own anxieties but see, they’re appearing ; ) this is good. Thanks for your kind words, you big sweetpea!

      • Raynor says:

        I definitely get what you mean. You’ll notice that I appear in person on my blog far less than you do on yours. I’m camera shy! lol

        I still sometimes get a bit squeamish about it, but I guess I used to do theater and had my writing go out into the world for everyone to judge or went on stage to act a fool, so after that putting my stuff on a blog is pretty easy comparatively ^_^

        When in doubt, just think of all the positive feedback you’ve gotten. Clearly people appreciate your work (AND your lovely face!) so just put that in the front of your mind when you get that squirmy feeling.

  2. MildlyCrafty says:

    All your FOs are fabulous Jules and so are you!! I second everything Raynor said!

  3. Kate says:

    Love them all, that bigs shawl is beautiful and that is a great tunic. I have worn and worn that yellow one, I must try making one.

  4. Tony says:

    What Raynor said +1… I especially love your hand dyed shawl… and the green one is lovely too, actually they all are!

  5. Annie says:

    Jules I read that first paragraph and honestly, it could have been me writing! I know exactly what you mean, and yes I struggle with all that stuff too. But the picture of you in that lovely plant dyed scarf … the knitting is fabulous, I love it, the tunic I covet, and how lovely to see your pretty, smiling face.

  6. Melanie says:

    Oh they are all so very gorgeous, you should post more. I was also thinking ooh, where did she get that tunic, I could do with a tunic like that. Shall Rav stalk you immediately.

  7. suse says:

    I think you look gorgeous, as do all your handmade items. I particularly love the enormous shawl.

  8. Nicole says:

    I completely relate to every single word of the first paragraph! That is ME!

    But I also agree with Raynor! You and your amazing knitting are beautiful (go ahead, squirm). That Faroese shawl is TO. DIE. FOR. and your tunic is so so pretty! (I hope you get your Christmas/Birthday Serger wish)

  9. magnusmog says:

    Loving the FOs and I have some serious shawl envy!

  10. sclues says:

    love, love, LOVE the Faroese shawl … I may have to bribe you for the pattern ❤ x

  11. Cassandra says:

    I think you look gorgeous! And your FOs are equal to their model, especially love the hand-dyed jobbie. I don’t always see FOs on Ravelry but I DO always read your blog so keep us updated here too!

  12. Fanny Brown says:

    I love every single item in this post! I want to make them all!

Leave a Reply

