i love camberwell market

Despite working in a very lovely yarn shop, recently I’ve been finding all my treasures at the market! After the recent score of a totally amazing swift, this morning I found:

3kg of second-hand 4-ply cotton in colours too beautiful to pass up! ($30)

For yet ANOTHER blanket?!

Old fabric scissors that are so sharp and cut so beautifully that they must have been used very recently- wonder why they were up for grabs? Extra pair? Estate sale? ($20)

Scissors

An old, fine Stratnoid crochet hook– I already have one of these and it is my absolute favourite for weaving in ends/ picking up stitches and is so light that I think it must be made of aluminium- and a sort of pin with a handle and a tiny hook on the end… anyone know what this is for?  ($6)

Hooks

And a collection of glove patterns with some beautiful details and styling ($3)

Dramatic cover shot!

Loving the colourwork embroidery

Bound for Melbourne!

I had to get out of there before I found anything else- a total of $59 is amazing for such beautiful, unusual and (most importantly) usable things but I neither need nor have any room for more ; )

This entry was posted in knitting and yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to i love camberwell market

  1. Sampling says:

    Good finds, I especially like the crochet hook!

  2. sooz says:

    The crochet hook with ring look like a nicer version of my turning tool – designed for pulling fine long sewn tubes right side out.

  3. Tony says:

    The colours of the cotton yarn are super!

  4. Emma says:

    Nice finds! I really like the pattern book.

  5. Laura says:

    I know what you mean by finds that you don’t need or have room for…but wonderful finds nonetheless!

  6. knitsofacto says:

    What glorious finds! I never get this lucky!! Will you knit any of the gloves?

  7. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!! Ye have the Gods with ye. (Of course another blanket).

Leave a Reply

