otways camping

We just had two days of much, much, MUCH-needed time in the bush! There was: lovely, soothing rain, walks in the Otways rainforest and at Johanna Beach and Blanket Bay, campfires, sandwiches toasted on said fires, rock-and-shell-collecting, time for those long, rambling conversations that only happen on a long drive somewhere, breakfasting with wallabies, laughter, tears, music and other good things. Please keep reminding me how good for the soul camping is- I know it but I just keep forgetting, especially during this last year when life has been so engrossing and tough. I MUST GO MORE!

I also had a very brief play with my new camera- a big thanks to my friend Matt for deciding to upgrade and pass his Nikon d80 to me! Now I really have to spend some time learning how to get out of auto mode this year ; ) We saw a whole lot of koalas down there, doing what they do most of the time- eating, scratching and sleeping! Even Australians don’t tend to get over the cuteness of these little fellas and it seemed like a good time to try the new camera. Enjoy!

Contemplating a scratch

Contemplating a scratch

Scratching...

Scratching…

...

Settling in…

... for a...

… for a…

... very...

… very…

DSC_0455

… big…

... sleep... zzz ....

… sleep… zzz ….

 

PS After such a long silence, many thanks to you who are still reading my blog! I have not had the energy or inspiration to blog recently but I will be here more regularly from now on xx

This entry was posted in creatures, outdoors, travelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to otways camping

  1. sclues says:

    nice to see you back … I hope you’re well. we must catch up soon xox

  2. Nyss says:

    Hi Jules, this sounds great ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hoping to do some camping later in the year. Were you tent camping – and if so, do you have any recommendations for nice quiet camping areas? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jen says:

    Hi… lovely little space here. I found you from another blog, and so I am here ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. EatingLemon says:

    Wow….Cute Koalas!

  5. kirsten says:

    awwwwwwwwwwww. loving Mr Koala. (obv I am assuming it is a Mr…)

  6. Tony says:

    I camped at Johanna Beach, gosh, maybe 30 years ago. There was a massive storm and we had to tie the tent to the car door handles to stop it being blown away! It sounds quite nice now although I think it was quite scary at the time.

    I like that you want to move out of auto mode on your camera. I used to know how to use the manual settings on camera but I’ve allowed myself to lose that skill, it would be good to learn again. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

