finished ursula, willamette and celes

You’d be forgiven for thinking that this little place has swapped from knitting blog to dye blog… not that I mean to limit it to just one topic, but it has been pretty dye-heavy recently. That’s mostly because, along with my dye sample book, it works well as a log for dyeing experiments, rather than because of a lack of knitting!

This is my version of the Ursula Cardigan from Kate Davies’ Colours of Shetland

Ursula

Ursula

Ursula

Ursula

Ursula

Ursula

I chose muted colours very different to Kate’s fresh, clear palette; it makes sense for hers to be worked in spring colours because it would be a spring cardigan in Scotland, whereas it’s definitely more suited to winter for me here in Melbourne. The colours make it something I can wear every day with dark jeans… but also make me want to break out of my regular uniform and make myself a grey tweed skirt to wear with it!

I can’t say enough good things about this pattern! Kate has combined traditional knitting techniques with beautiful and thoughtful details and great pattern-writing to create a beautiful and well-fitting garment. I changed mine to a v-neck and I’m really happy with the outcome- it looks nice done up and open on me. The only thing I’d  do differently next time would be to go down a needle size or two, just for the mid-torso, to add a bit of waist definition. It’s a bit blocky as is and I need all the definition I can get as any extra weight goes straight to my belly ; )

Ravelled here.

Next up is Willamette from Amy Christoffers

Willamette

Willamette

Willamette

Willamette

Amy is super cool and has a background in fine art; I think you can really see that in her designs, which merge super-wearable shapes with beautiful details and textures. This jacket is so snug and warm but also feels kinda smart in a very organic, “Japanese” way ; )  It’s getting quite a bit of wear and will definitely be keeping me warm at Bendigo this Sunday. I love that tweed stitch pattern…

Ravelled here.

And lastly, Celes from Jared Flood

Celes

Celes

Celes

Celes

Amy and I started knitting this scarf/ shawl together this time last year, just after she had her little boy Finn… needless to say, she had more important things to do and never got around to finishing it! I got all the way through the body and 3/4 of the way around the knitted-on edging and then ran out of yarn… yes, like many others commented on ravelry, the metrage listed for this pattern is short. It was the first time I’ve run out of a discontinued colourway and really not known how to proceed- distressing ; ) And so it sat unfinished until recently, when I decided to just go ahead with the closest colour I could find to this unusual, yellow-based grey. I’d much rather embrace imperfection than never finish it. You can see the different colour on the edging in the first photo… I can live with that. The pattern is inspired by traditional Shetland lace patterns and definitely lacier than what I’d normally wear but I think the grey tones that down and makes it wearable for me…

Ravelled here.

So that’s my knitting of late. Soon to come off the needles will be Scatness Tunic, another colourwork pattern from Colours of Shetland and again in very different colours to the original. And I’m working on a couple of small accessory patterns… hopefully more on those soon. You never know how things are going to turn out but I think they’ll be fun!

What are you knitting at the moment?!

This entry was posted in knitting and yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to finished ursula, willamette and celes

  1. Kate says:

    That Ursula is fantastic, they all are really! I love the change to the v-neck and great colours.

  2. tony says:

    Jules, they all look wonderful! You’re right that the Willamette looks somehow Japanese, should keep you toasty warm on your trip to Bendigo. I’m sure you can spot the imperfection in the shawl but I honestly can’t see it in the picture. Lovely!

  3. Myf says:

    I’ve been wanting to make that Ursula pattern for ages but have been put off by the colour work (I’m too impatient). Yours is gorgeous, I love the colour flecks in the main yarn.

  4. laliloo says:

    I love all three of your finished projects – if you weren’t so far away I’d be warning you to lock them away from my grabby hands!! Gorgeous.

  5. Jen says:

    Actually I think I rather prefer Ursula in grey , with subtle contrast, just as you have done. Very sweet !!!

  6. MildlyCrafty says:

    Ohh, poor Celes, I found it recently, only had about an inch done 😦

    Your Ursula cardi is divine!

Leave a Reply

